Tags

,

A wonderful episode from one of my favorite shows as a kid:


What a fantastic piece of scientific advocacy, not to mention all the nuggets of skeptical goodness in there! It’s funny, it’s approachable, it offers practical ways to test pseudoscience yourself, and best of all it stresses the power of science and how it can help us discover the universe. James “The Amazing” Randi, of the very educational foundation with whom I am a research fellow, even shows up!

Extraordinary claims require extraordinary proof…

Bill Nye’s show definitely put me on the track to becoming a scientist myself, and the healthy dose of skepticism and critical thinking in the episode above is something that all children should receive. Though I’m sad I didn’t realize how jam-packed the episode was with modern skepticism at the time, I’m so grateful that shows like this were out there, advancing reason in the face of superstition.