Tags

, , ,

I was born in 1989, meaning that my earliest years were filled with toys from the 90s. In fact, looking back, I had a lot of toys. I was probably a spoiled little kid, rolling around in a Big Wheel while feeding my Tamagotchi. I can prove it.

Take a look at the toys below (38 in all) and soak in the nostalgia. For each toy, if you owned it, write down how many you owned and how many your childhood friends owned. When you get to the end, I’ll give you an equation to calculate how spoiled you were, because science.

90s ToysA fun trip down memory lane, right? It probably was if you were a spoiled punk like myself. I hope you wrote down the numbers, because now it’s time for some math. Here’s the equation:

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 12.32.51 PMThat big E that you see means “sum.” For each toy, subtract the number your friends owned from the number you owned (if it is less than zero, just have it be zero). And make sure to count the Beanie Babies and Pokemon cards as 1, not 1,000, you nerdy collectors. Next, add all of those resultants up and divide by the total number of toys, 38. Qualify your score with my handy chart below:

  • 0= Totally not spoiled
  • 0-0.25= Fortunate, still wanted a Simon Says
  • 0.25-0.50= Jealous friends, “Bop It! is a one-person game!”
  • 0.50-0.75= Everyone wants to come to your house, but not for you.
  • 0.75-1.00=You could use an Easy-Bake Oven for all your meals.
  • 1.00+= Who needs friends when you have so many LEGOs?

General mathematical thinking: altering the view of your childhood since 1989.

FYI: I scored 0.85.