Tags

, , , ,

I can finally and officially announce that the James Randi Educational Foundation has recently appointed me their newest research fellow joining the likes of Dr. Steve Novella, host of the Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe podcast, in the fight against pseudoscience and uncritical thought.

You can read the press release here, but in short, the JREF and I have a lot of awesomely skeptical ideas brewing. In addition to being a research fellow, we have the following in the works:

  • The JREF will support and help publish my research into human information processing and the Internet, where I will determine how personal motivations and website characteristics affect critical thinking on the Web.
  • I will be blogging periodically at JREF’s Swift Blog, adding to the skeptical goodness already found within it.
  • I will be developing a “Science and Skepticism 101” workshop for the JREF which I will present at event like TAM (the largest skeptical conference in the world), and colleges/conferences around the country under the auspices of the JREF.
  • I will hopefully be publishing some of my articles for distribution via the JREF’s digital ebooks and apps.
  • I will also be conducting more research into who the skeptical community actually is. My idea is to start a yearly survey of the skeptical community to get a better idea of just who comprises our movement, and how they act within it.

I am absolutely overjoyed at this opportunity. This is a chance for me to bring science and skepticism to more people than I ever could before. To all of you who read this blog, I want to thank you for your support and readership. Stick around because there is going to be a lot of great stuff coming your way.